Tourisme Ville de Saguenay

Discover the Route du Fjord

The Saguenay Fjord has striking landscapes interspersed with capes and steep cliffs. Experience them on the marked Route du Fjord.

Explore the Route by car and learn more about the villages and attractions that line it by obtaining an audio-guide from the tourist information bureaus and the information stations in the National parks. Why not take advantage of a luxury tourist bus service with Tours aventure fjord et monde?

The Route du Fjord map and brochure :

City and villages to explore

These are the city and villages that comprise the Route du Fjord.

Saguenay, Chicoutimi district

Known for its cultural life, the Chicoutimi district is bordered by the Saguenay River and mountains. Its downtown is bustling with terrace, restaurants, shows, festivals, museums, art galleries—there is certainly no shortage of activities! Don’t miss the chance to visit the historic Bassic quarter, including La Petite Maison Blanche, which resisted the 1996 flood. Discover the city's attractions on the tourist bus .

Saguenay, La Baie district

The majestic Ha! Ha! Bay is jaw dropping. Admire the landscape from Mars park and the bicycle path. The Musée du Fjord will introduce you to the secrets of the Saguenay Fjord with its giant aquarium and 3D projection. The famous show La Fabuleuse, the story of the Kingdom of the Saguenay, in addition to dazzling you with its grandeur, will teach you about the history of the region. There is an activity for every outdoor enthusiast—hikes, beaches, fishing! Don’t miss the canyon at the Centre plein air Bec-scie.


Located between the mountains and the Fjord, this village is a member of the Association of the most beautiful villages of Quebec. The Fjord lookout from l’Anse-de-Tabatière alone is worth the trip! This small village is also home to architectural treasures such as the famous covered bridge which used to adorn the Canadian $1,000 bill in the 1990s. Make the most of the activities it offers such as exhilarating cruises, kayaking, hiking, cycling or downhill sliding or skiing at Mont-Édouard as well as ice fishing on the Fjord.


You will be transported as you cross this mountain-bound village. Stop at the Rivière Petit-Saguenay recreational heritage site to experience century-old accommodations. Enjoy exceptional facilities for salmon fishing or have a relaxing family stay at Village Vacances, a member of the VIVA network. Stop by the wharf for an exceptional lookout on the Fjord.


This village will charm you with its breathtaking landscapes. Whether you are hiking or on a cruise, you can admire the 9-metre high Notre-Dame-du-Saguenay statue that overlooks the Fjord from the heights of Cap Trinité. The permanent exhibit of nativity scenes from around the world is a must-see. Parc national du Fjord-du-Saguenay guarantees wonderful adventures with its interpretation centre, network of hiking trails and ice-fishing site.


Surrounded by lakes and rivers, this village is practically a resort in the summer. It’s a paradise for camping, beaching, hunting and fishing! There is also the site de la Nouvelle-France, a stunning reproduction of a history-rich past. The whole family can experience life in the time of the first trades between First Nations and Europeans in the 17th century.


Nicknamed the « pearl of the Fjord», Sainte-Rose-du-Nord bears the label of the Association of Most Beautiful Villages of Quebec. Pedestrians and amateur sailors alike will be dazzled by the magnificent scenery. Make the most of your stay by visiting the Musée de la Nature and the century-old all-wood church. Take a hike or go on a cruise on the Fjord.


Combining agricultural and forest environments, this municipality opens its territory to hunting and fishing enthusiasts as well as to nature lovers. With many packages offered year round, Ferme 5 étoiles will introduce you to the beauty of the area. Don’t miss the Beluga Interpretation Centre, where you’ll have the opportunity to observe these mammals in Sainte-Marguerite bay. Take a side trip to l’Anse-de-Roche—the lookouts on the Fjord are breathtaking!


Saint-Fulgence, located a dozen kilometres from the Chicoutimi district, offers a wide range of activities with Parc aventures Cap Jaseux, CIBRO, Chevrier du Nord and the not-to-be-missed Parc national des Monts-Valin. Furthermore, the Monts-Valin massif is a snowmobiling paradise with exceptional snow accumulation.

Vallée de la biodiversité

Between Tadoussac (km 0) and Saint-Fulgence (km 111), Route du Fjord stretches over 100 km through a magnificent valley known as Vallée de la biodiversité, or Biodiversity Valley.

This valley, where the Sainte-Marguerite River flows, is made up of many rare ecosystems that are home to species on the verge of being declared endangered or threatened such as the beluga (Sainte-Marguerite bay) and the peregrine falcon, which nests on the immense rocky escarpments. Other inhabitants of the Vallée de la biodiversité include moose, black bears, Atlantic salmon and many other fish and bird species.

Two exceptional forest ecosystems are found on the north side of the valley: a rare yellow birch/ black ash mixed hardwood grove, and an ancient forest, of white cedar and eastern white pine.

What is biodiversity?

Biodiversity designates all life forms on Earth, all the organisms that make up the living world and their characteristics, humans included. It is home to rich flora and fauna. Consult the document for more details.

Regional biodiversity

Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean has a diverse ecosystems characterized by fresh, brackish, and salt waters; many lakes and rivers; plains and mountains; mixed and boreal forests. The region moreover comprises some of the most spectacular ecosystems in Quebec such as the Saguenay Fjord, and also areas protected because of their great ecological value.

Vallée de la biodiversité contains a few of these protected zones, specifically the Saguenay and Monts-Valin national parks, the Saguenay marine park, the exceptional ecosystem of an ancient forest (on the north shore of the Sainte-Marguerite River, 20 km from the village of Sacré-Coeur) and the Marcelle-Gauvreau ecological reserve.

Biological diversity by the numbers :

  • 14 amphibians and reptiles
  • 62 mammals
  • 76 fishes
  • 304 birds
  • 410 aquatic invertebrates
  • 1260 plants
  • 1400 insects

Tourisme Ville de Saguenay

La Route du Fjord à découvrir

Le fjord du Saguenay offre des paysages saisissants ponctués de caps et de falaises escarpées. Découvrez le via la Route du Fjord, une route signalisée.

Un audio-guide est disponible dans les bureaux d’information touristique et les postes d’accueil des Parcs nationaux afin de la découvrir en voiture et en connaître davantage sur les villages et les attraits qui la sillonnent. Pourquoi pas profiter d’un service d’autobus touristique de luxe avec Tours aventure fjord et monde

Voici la carte et la brochure de la Route du Fjord


Ville et villages à sillonner

Voici la ville et les villages qui composent la Route du Fjord.

Saguenay, arr. de Chicoutimi

Reconnu pour sa vie culturelle, l’arrondissement de Chicoutimi est bordé par la rivière Saguenay et les montagnes. Son centre-ville est trépidant grâce à ses terrasses, ses restaurants, ses spectacles, ses festivals, ses musées, ses galeries d’art, bref, ce n’est pas le choix qui manque ! Le quartier historique du Bassin, où se trouve La Petite Maison blanche qui a résisté aux inondations de 1996 est sans contredit un lieu à visiter. Découvrez les attraits de la ville grâce à l’autobus touristique .

Saguenay, arr. de La Baie

Vous serez bouche bée devant la majestueuse baie des Ha ! Ha ! Profitez du parc Mars et de la piste cyclable pour admirer le paysage. Le Musée du Fjord vous permet de découvrir les secrets cachés du fjord du Saguenay avec son aquarium géant et sa projection 3D. Le réputé spectacle La Fabuleuse Histoire d’un Royaume, en plus de vous éblouir par sa démesure, vous en apprendra sur l’histoire de la région. Pour les amateurs de plein air, randonnées, plage, pêche, tout est possible ! Voyez absolument le canyon du Centre plein air Bec-scie.

L’Anse-Saint-Jean

Situé entre les montagnes et le fjord ce village porte le label de l’Association des plus beaux villages du Québec. Le point de vue du fjord à partir de l’Anse-de-Tabatière vaut à lui seul le déplacement ! Ce village recèle des trésors architecturaux, dont le fameux pont couvert que l’on retrouvait sur les billets de 1000$ dans les années 90. Profitez des activités comme la croisière, le kayak, la randonnée, le vélo, ou le ski alpin au Mont-Édouard et la pêche blanche sur le fjord

Petit-Saguenay

En traversant ce village entouré de montagnes, vous serez dépaysé. Arrêtez-vous au site de la Rivière Petit-Saguenay, là où l’hébergement centenaire est une expérience à vivre. Profitez d’aménagements exceptionnels pour la pêche au saumon ou détendez-vous en famille au Village Vacances, membre du réseau VIVA. Rendez-vous sur le quai où vous jouirez d’une vue exceptionnelle sur le fjord.

Rivière-Éternité

Ce village vous charmera par la démesure de ses paysages. En croisière ou en randonnée, vous pourrez admirer la statue de Notre-Dame-du-Saguenay, haute de 9 mètres, qui domine le fjord du haut du Cap Trinité. L’exposition permanente de crèches provenant de tous les pays est à voir absolument. Le Parc national du Fjord-du-Saguenay, avec son centre d’interprétation, son réseau de sentiers pédestres et son site de pêche blanche, vous promet de belles aventures.

Saint-Félix-d’Otis

Entouré de lacs et de rivières, ce village devient presque une station balnéaire durant l’été. Camping , plage, chasse, pêche font le bonheur des amateurs ! Et que dire du site de la Nouvelle-France, digne reproduction d’un passé riche d’histoire. En famille, revivez l’époque des premiers échanges commerciaux entre les amérindiens et les blancs du XVIIe siècle.

Sainte-Rose-du-Nord

Baptisé la « perle du fjord », Sainte-Rose-du-Nord porte le label de l’Association des plus beaux villages du Québec. Que vous soyez flâneur ou plaisancier, vous serez ébloui par autant de panoramas magnifiques. Profitez de votre passage pour visiter le Musée de la Nature et l’église centenaire tout en bois, faire une randonnée pédestre ou encore une croisière sur le fjord.

Sacré-Cœur

Mariant des paysages agricoles et forestiers, cette municipalité ouvre son territoire aux amateurs de pêche, de chasse et aux amants de la nature. Avec ses nombreux forfaits offerts à l’année, la Ferme 5 étoiles vous fera découvrir la beauté des lieux. Offrez-vous une visite au centre d’interprétation des bélugas, où vous pourrez admirer le mammifère dans la baie Sainte-Marguerite. Faites un détour à l’Anse-de-Roche ... les points de vue sur le fjord sont saisissants !

Saint-Fulgence

Saint-Fulgence, situé à une dizaine de kilomètres de l’arrondissement de Chicoutimi, offre une grande diversité d’activités avec le Parc aventures Cap Jaseux, le CIBRO, le Chevrier du Nord et l’incontournable Parc national des Monts-Valin. De plus, le massif des monts Valin est sans contredit le paradis de la motoneige avec ses accumulations exceptionnelles de neige.




Vallée de la biodiversité

Entre Tadoussac (km 0) et Saint-Fulgence (km 111), sur une centaine de kilomètres, la Route du Fjord traverse la Vallée de la biodiversité.

Cette vallée, laissant couler la rivière Ste-Marguerite, est constituée de plusieurs écosystèmes rares, d'espèces susceptibles d'être désignées menacées et vulnérables telles que le béluga (Baie Ste-Marguerite) ou encore le faucon pèlerin qui niche dans ces immenses parois rocheuses. On y retrouve aussi l’orignal, l’ours noir, le saumon atlantique et plusieurs espèces de poisson et d’oiseaux.

Deux écosystèmes forestiers classés exceptionnels se retrouvent sur le versant nord de la vallée: une forêt rare soit une bétulaie jaune à frêne noir et une forêt ancienne, une sapinière à thuya et à pin blanc.


Qu'est-ce que la biodiversité?

La biodiversité désigne toutes les formes de vie sur la Terre, tous les organismes qui constituent le règne vivant et leurs caractéristiques, l’humain y compris. Elle abrite une flore et une faune foisonnante. Pour plus de détail, consultez le document.


La diversité biologique régionale

Le Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean possède une grande diversité d'écosystèmes caractérisée par la présence d'eau douce, saumâtre et salée; d'un grand nombre de rivières et de lacs; de plaines, vallées et montagnes; de forêts mélangées et de forêts boréales continues. La région recèle des écosystèmes parmi les plus spectaculaires du Québec tel que le fjord du Saguenay, mais également des milieux protégés en raison de leur grande valeur écologique.

La Vallée de la biodiversité compte quelques-uns de ces milieux protégés, notamment les parcs nationaux du Saguenay et des Monts-Valin, le Parc Marin du Saguenay, l'écosystème forestier exceptionnel de la Forêt ancienne de la Rivière-Sainte-Marguerite (sur le versant nord de la rivière Ste-Marguerite à 20 km de la municipalité de Sacré-Coeur) ou encore la réserve écologique Marcelle-Gauvrau.

La diversité biologique en chiffres :

  • 14 amphibiens et reptiles
  • 62 mammifères
  • 76 poissons
  • 304 oiseaux
  • 410 invertébrés aquatiques
  • 1260 plantes
  • 1400 insecte